Skip navigation

I taught the GMAT for about 3 years. In that time, I had the pleasure of teaching over 250 students. Along the way, I also had the privilege of helping a select few craft their admissions packages.
Based on my experience and in order of importance, I present the following 8 factors I consider critical to getting into a top b-school:

  1. GMAT Score
  2. Application Essays
  3. Work Experience
  4. GPA
  5. Extracurricular Activities
  6. Recommendations
  7. Interviews
  8. Applicant Submission Round
One Comment

  1. I really like the blog and advice offered on various topics (especially since I am in consulting as well). I aspire to apply to top MBA programs soon and was hoping you wouldn’t mind a couple of follow-up questions to a few various posts.

    1. You list GMAT score as the #1 factor in admissions. I find this interesting since almost all other sources, including schools themselves, say that GMAT has a much less importance. Can you please expand on why you feel the GMAT is weighed much heavier than the other sources? Obviously adcoms say one thing then do another, but what about other blogs/sites?

    2. I also really like your post regarding gathering information on the adcom director and your interviewer- very Sun Tzu (know your enemy). Can you please give some pointers on how to pinpoint subtle things to look for when “getting to know” to your adcom director?

    Thank you in advance.

    Take care.


Leave a Reply

